Published on July 16th, 2015 | by Phil

David Gilmour reveals details of ‘Rattle That Lock’

David Gilmour, has announced that his new solo album ‘Rattle That Lock’ will be released worldwide on 18 September by Sony Music. The first single, also called Rattle That Lock, will have its world premiere tomorrow on BBC Radio 2’s Chris Evans show.

Also announced today are David Gilmour’s first North American dates for ten years to take place in March and April 2016.

‘Rattle That Lock’ is David Gilmour’s fourth solo album and follows his 2006 No 1 ‘On An Island’.  Primary lyricist is Gilmour’s long-term writing partner, Polly Samson, and it is co-produced by David Gilmour and Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera. ‘Rattle That Lock’s striking cover has been art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation under the creative directorship of Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis.

Full tracklisting for ‘Rattle That Lock’

1) 5 A.M (Gilmour)

2) Rattle That Lock (Gilmour/Samson/Boumendil)

3) Faces Of Stone (Gilmour)

4) A Boat Lies Waiting (Gilmour/Samson)

5) Dancing Right In Front Of Me (Gilmour)

6) In Any Tongue (Gilmour/Samson)

7) Beauty (Gilmour)

8) The Girl In The Yellow Dress (Gilmour/Samson)

9) Today (Gilmour/Samson)

10) And Then…(Gilmour)


The track Rattle That Lock will be heard for the first time on BBC Radio 2 tomorrow morning and will be available immediately to download and stream worldwide. The song begins with the four notes, created by Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which Gilmour recorded on his iPhone at Aix-en-Prevence station. Samson’s lyrics are inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost, which is also featured in her recent acclaimed novel, The Kindness. The single also features the Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.

The North American March and April 2016 shows will be David Gilmour’s first dates there since the ‘On An Island’ tour in 2006, it will follow his UK and European tour this September/October. Tickets go on sale Friday 17 July at 10.00am EST. Every ticket purchased online includes a copy of David Gilmour’s new studio album ‘Rattle That Lock’. The US dates are:


24 March 2016 – Los Angeles – Hollywood Bowl
31 March 2016 – Toronto – ACC
8 April 2016 – Chicago – United Center
11 April 2016 – New York – Madison Square Garden

 Tickets can be booked via, at all Ticketmaster outlets, or by phone.


iTunes – Standard – Deluxe


Amazon – Standard physical – Deluxe physical – Vinyl


Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑